Martinos Investigators Among the Recipients of Distinguished Investigator Award

Martinos News

Martinos Center faculty members Matti Hämäläinen, Vitaly Napadow and Ona Wu are among the 37 researchers selected to receive a 2019 Distinguished Investigator Award from the Academy for Radiology & Biomedical Imaging Research. This prestigious honor recognizes individuals for their accomplishments in the field of medical imaging.

Academy Executive Director Renee Cruea noted that the recipients represent the top 10% of all academic radiology faculty.

“Collectively, these Distinguished Investigators advance medical imaging research and the field in immeasurable ways,” Cruea stated. “Honoring these individuals is one of the Academy’s annual highlights. I look forward to personally thanking them for advancing radiology research through their many achievements during the induction ceremony.”

“The Distinguished Investigators represent the future of research in radiology, advancing the field and developing ways to significantly improve patient care through imaging,” said Elizabeth A. Krupinski, PhD, who is a Council of Distinguished Investigators co-chair. “We look forward to honoring the 2019 class of inductees at RSNA and to their continued success.”

  • Each of the honorees has met the following criteria:
  • Primary professional appointment in an academic Department of Radiology;
  • Recipient of a MD, DO, and/or PhD degree;
  • Academic rank of at least Associate Professor or its equivalent;
  • Significant research contributions;
  • Sustained productivity, including at least 25 peer-reviewed scientific research publications in which the awardee is the first author or senior author; and
  • Demonstrated accomplishments as an independent investigator with a
  • substantial ongoing research program, including at least 6 cumulative years of funding as the Principal Investigator of a major competitive extramural research grant.

Honorees will be inducted into the Academy’s Council of Distinguished Investigators during a ceremony that will be held in November at the Radiological Society of North America’s 2019 annual meeting in Chicago.