Dr. van der Kouwe does research in the field of MRI pulse sequence design and image analysis. He supports neuroscience research at the MGH and collaborating institutions by improving acquisition methods, providing techniques such as high-reliability imaging for quantitative brain morphometry with FreeSurfer, automatic slice prescription and prospective on-scanner motion and shim correction for anatomical imaging and spectroscopy. He developed the original Siemens ?AutoAlign? prototype. This technology improves clinical workflow and reliability in brain imaging. He shares sequences for bandwidth matched morphometry, such as MEMPRAGE, with other research sites. The MPRAGE and T2-SPACE sequences with vNav (volumetric navigator) based prospective motion correction are used at multiple sites in the ABCD and HCP studies and elsewhere. For the last decade, Dr. van der Kouwe has collaborated with the University of Cape Town and Stellenbosch University on techniques for imaging HIV infected children and adolescents with Drs. Meintjes, Laughton and Holmes, and their students, and fetal alcohol spectrum disorder with Drs. Sandra and Joseph Jacobson. 


PhD in Biomedical Engineering, The Ohio State University

Select Publications

van der Kouwe AJW, Benner T, Salat DH, Fischl B. Brain morphometry with multiecho MPRAGE. Neuroimage. 2008 Apr 1;40(2):559-569. doi: 10.1016/j.neuroimage.2007.12.025. Epub 2008 Feb 1. PMID: 18242102; PMCID: PMC2408694.

Tisdall MD, Hess AT, Reuter M, Meintjes EM, Fischl B, van der Kouwe AJ. Volumetric navigators for prospective motion correction and selective reacquisition in neuroanatomical MRI. Magn Reson Med. 2012 Aug;68(2):389-99. doi: 10.1002/mrm.23228. Epub 2011 Dec 28. PMID: 22213578; PMCID: PMC3320676.

Frost R, Wighton P, Karahanoğlu FI, Robertson RL, Grant PE, Fischl B, Tisdall MD, van der Kouwe A. Markerless high-frequency prospective motion correction for neuroanatomical MRI. Magn Reson Med. 2019 Jul;82(1):126-144. doi: 10.1002/mrm.27705. Epub 2019 Feb 28. PMID: 30821010; PMCID: PMC6491242.


2007: Elected to senior member of the IEEE

2014: Recognized on Thomson Reuters list of top 1% most cited researchers in neuroscience

2016: Honorary Associate Professor, Department of Human Biology, University of Cape Town


Laboratory for Computational Neuroimaging